Sci Fi Fantasy Chess Set

Yesterday, in a slow, post-lunch work skive, I played chess against the computer. And I won.

“So what?”, you might think, but I don’t win any kind of chess game very often, let alone one played against a machine. So I felt pretty pleased with myself.

But the chess pieces themselves got me thinking. Wouldn’t it be awesome if you could choose what your digital chess pieces looked like?

So after wasting some time playing chess, I then wasted a bit more time coming up with my sci fi fantasy chess set (nothing like putting off until tomorrow what could’ve been done today).

Here’s how my fantasy chess set would look:

One set of pieces would be based on Battlestar Galactica characters and the other on Star Trek: The Next Generation characters. The BSG set was tough – I had to leave out major characters but in the end I decided to go just with those attached to the colonial fleet. Even then I had to leave out characters like Helo and Gaeta. The Star Trek ones were easier once I’d decided to go just for one series, and that was really just a toss-up between the original and TNG. But TNG has Picard so that won.

William AdamaThe BSG set:

  • King: Admiral Bill Adama
  • Queen: The Battlestar Galactica
  • Knight: Cpt. Kara Thrace (Starbuck)
  • Knight: Col. Saul Tigh
  • Bishop: President Laura Roslin
  • Bishop: Cpt. Lee Adama (Apollo)
  • Rook: Dr. Gaius Baltar
  • Rook: Chief Galen Tyrol
  • Pawns: Colonial viper pilots

Jean-luc PicardAnd the Star Trek set:

  • King: Cpt. Jean-Luc Picard
  • Queen: USS Enterprise
  • Knight: Lt. Cmdr. Data
  • Knight: Cmdr. William Riker
  • Bishop: Counselor Deanna Troi
  • Bishop: Dr. Beverley Crusher
  • Rook: Lt. Cmdr. Geordi La Forge
  • Rook: Lt. Worf
  • Pawns: Enterprise crewmen

I did toy with creating a fantasy Star Wars set but that would have been a whole ‘nother chess game……

This entry was posted in Misc and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

